Record Details

Catalog Search

Renegade : defending democracy and liberty in our divided country / Adam Kinzinger with Michael D'Antonio.

Once a rising star of the Republican party, former congressman Adam Kinzinger became a traitor to his own party when he voted to impeach Donald Trump after the January 6 attacks on the capitol. Now he shares a gripping firsthand account of the events that led to this moment. On January 6, 2021, Donald Trump incited a violent mob to storm the US Capitol in attempts to overturn the presidential election. It was a betrayal of our Constitution, and one of the darkest days in recent history. Yet to Adam Kinzinger it was also the culmination of a cultural and political rupture he'd long seen coming. Constructive criticism from within the Republican Party was no longer enough. It was time to stand up, even if it meant betraying his own party. In Renegade, Kinzinger tells his story of faith, service, and political duty in a democracy under siege. From the small Illinois county board where he got his start, to his years in the Air Force flying tanker missions over Iraq, to his final tumultuous term in Congress as one of the few Republican members to vote to impeach Trump and join the House Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol, Kinzinger takes readers inside the most critical moments and pivotal decisions of the last years. The result is both a searing examination of the rise of extremism and the GOP's subsequent descent into a dysfunctional and destructive force, and a rousing call to return to unity. Raw, provocative, and clear-eyed, Renegade captures one of the most transformative periods in recent American History. -- Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593654163
  • ISBN: 0593654161
  • Physical Description: xx, 295 pages ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: [New York, New York] : The Open Field/Penguin Life, [2023]

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note:
Introduction -- What Do You Stand For? -- Politics in a Bygone Age -- Life Gets Serious -- Defend Your Country, See the World -- Lessons of War -- My Cup of Tea -- Crazytown -- A New Normal -- Carnage -- I Am a Traitor (and I'm Okay with It) -- Do Your Job -- The Final Hearing -- Conclusion: The Definition of Courage -- Acknowledgments.
Subject: Kinzinger, Adam.
Legislators > United States > Biography.
United States. Congress. House. Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol.
Capitol Riot, Washington, D.C., 2021.
United States > Politics and government > 2017-2021.
United States > Politics and government > 2021-
Genre: Autobiographies.

Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lehigh Valley Library System. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Bethlehem Area Public Library System.


  • 1 current hold with 2 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bethlehem Main Library B KINZINGER (Text) 33062009795411 New Adult Biography Checked Out 12/12/2023

Additional Resources