Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



When it all syncs up / Maya Ameyaw.

Ameyaw, Maya, (author.).

Summary:
"A Black teen dancer with dreams of landing a spot in a prestigious ballet company must learn to dance on her own terms in this explosive debut about the healing power of art and friendship, perfect for fans of Heartbreaker and Tiny Pretty Things. Ballet is Aisha's life. So when she's denied yet another lead at her elite academy because she doesn't "look" the part, she knows something has to change-the constant discrimination is harming her mental health. Switching to her best friend Neil's art school seems like the perfect plan at first. But she soon discovers racism and bullying are entrenched in the ballet program here, too, and there's a new, troubling distance between her and Neil. And as past traumas surface, pressure from friends and family, a new romance, and questions about her dance career threaten to overwhelm her. There's no choreography to follow-for high school or for healing. Aisha will have to find the strength within herself-and place her trust in others-to make her next move."-- Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781773217819
  • ISBN: 177321781X
  • Physical Description: 291 pages : 24 cm
  • Publisher: Toronto : Annick Press, [2023]

Content descriptions

Additional Physical Form available Note:
Issued also in electronic format.
Subject: African American dancers > Juvenile fiction.
Ballet dancers > Juvenile fiction.
Mental health > Juvenile fiction.
African American dancers > Fiction.
Ballet dancers > Fiction.
Mental health > Fiction.
Genre: Young adult fiction.
Fiction.
Social problem fiction.

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at Lehigh Valley Library System. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Bethlehem Area Public Library System.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 3 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bethlehem Main Library YA (Text) 33062009783508 New YA Fiction Available -


Additional Resources